Michael Crick wins 2018 British Journalism Review Charles Wheeler Award

14 June 2018

Michael Crick has won the 2018 Charles Wheeler award for outstanding contribution to broadcast journalism, which this year is celebrating its tenth anniversary. His achievements will be recognised at an award ceremony on the 19th June, at which Gina Miller will give a keynote speech.

Michael is Political Correspondent for Channel 4 News. He started his career as a trainee journalist at ITN in 1980 and was a founding member of the Channel 4 News team in 1982. In 1990, he joined the BBC and rose to become political editor of Newsnight in 2007 before returning to Channel 4 News in 2011. During his distinguished career Michael has established a reputation for hard-hitting investigative and campaigning journalism, and has won four RTS awards: for his Channel 4 News coverage of the 1988 US election, for his 2002 BBC Panorama programme on Jeffrey Archer, and the prize for Specialist Journalist of the Year in both 2014 and 2018. In 2014 he was also named Political Studies Association Journalist of the Year. He has also written several books, including biographies of Alex Ferguson, Jeffrey Archer and Michael Heseltine. He is now writing a biography of the legendary political scientist and psephologist David Butler.  Michael is also a lay governor of Manchester University.

Gina Miller, who will give a keynote speech at the award ceremony, is a campaigner, philanthropist and co-founder of the innovative investment company, SCM Direct. She has been a vocal campaigner for increased transparency in the pensions and investment sector, as well as the charity sector, and in 2009 set up the True and Fair Foundation to facilitate smarter charitable giving. Gina came to prominence in 2016 when she successfully challenged the Government’s attempt to trigger Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty – a legal requirement for the UK to leave the European Union – without a parliamentary vote. After a landmark legal battle, this major constitutional issue was resolved in her favour by the Supreme Court in January 2017.

The Charles Wheeler Award is a collaboration between British Journalism Review and the University of Westminster, started in 2009 when the inaugural winner was Jeremy Paxman. It is presented each year by Sir Charles’ widow Lady Wheeler, accompanied by the Wheeler family. The annual award ceremony is hosted by the University of Westminster and will take place this year on 19 June at the University’s newly restored Regent Street Cinema.

Share this News