The Orwell Prizes, and Orwell Youth Prizes 2020 Announced

10 August 2020

The Orwell Prizes aim to encourage good writing and thinking about politics. The prizes are overseen by Prof. Jean Seaton who is Director of the the Orwell Foundation. Winning entries should strive to meet Orwell’s own ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’. The shortlists were announced on 21st May, and the winners were revealed in July 2020.

You can find our more about the awards and see the long and short lists on the Orwell Prize website.


The Orwell Prize 2020 winners


Political Writing Book prize

Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me

Kate Clanchy

Political fiction book prize

The Nickel Boys

Colson Whitehead

Journalism prize

Janice Turner

The Times

Exposing Britain’s Social Evils

Ian Birrell

Locked up & secretly abused by the NHS

Freelance (Mail on Sunday, I News, Tortoise)

Orwell Youth Prize



Not so welcome break

Tom Finlayson (Fiction)

You are what you eat

Hugh Ludford (Fiction)

To the boy who’s considered my equal

Helen Chick (Poetry)




Jessica Tunks (Journalism)

Streets in the Sky

Rosaleen Tite Ahern (Essay)

How many people does it take to change? (The World)

Maya Stokes (Poetry)

What we lost

Lauren Debruin (Fiction)

Share this News